Wow. I guess that whole “schedule” plan was thrown right out the window. But, at least I remembered eventually!

Speaking of remembering, today I remembered some interesting events from my middle school days when we had a fire scare at school. Towards the end of the day, there was apparently a smell of gas coming from a science classroom so the school was promptly evacuated. I don’t particularly think it is a good thing that I was able to approximate the exact amount of time it would take for the fire department to arrive, and how long it would take for us to get back to class, but I did. The only reason I was able to do so was because at my middle school we would often have kids who thought they were cool pull the fire alarm. It got to the point where there were so many fire scares that the fire department resorted to putting something like paint into the alarm itself so it would spray the person who pulled the alarm. That way, the perpetrator would be, quite literally, caught red handed.

What I really want to know about kids who do bad things like that is why. What is their reasoning behind doing such things? Do they think it’s funny? Do they think they’re cool? Or are they merely not told that doing such a thing is an actual crime that forces one to pay a fine of at least $100?

Another, much more serious, example also happened in middle school. I still remember that day quite clearly:

It was the seventh grade, only perhaps a day after the one-year anniversary of the Virginia Tech shooting. I was in my last class of the day, which was science. An announcement was made that we would be having a lock-down drill, which is basically a drill in which we practice what to do if there is ever a situation where a person who could be a threat is in the building. So, my entire class huddled into a corner behind the teacher’s desk and sat.
The first fifteen minutes was annoying, as everyone was mumbling and giggling quietly, all blissfully unaware of what was going on. Then, my teacher got an email. He read it, talked to the assistant teacher for a short minute, then went back to his computer as she (the assistant) watched us. After another ten minutes of unruly children getting on her nerves, the assistant told us something that made us re-think our loudness:
We were in an actual lock-down situation.

Everyone was astonished and listened carefully as she described the email our teacher had received, which stated that a student went to the office claiming she had been assaulted when she was in the bathroom. We were quiet for a while, thinking this over, but eventually most students simply wrote it off as nothing. Then, thirty minutes or so into the lock-down, a frustrated student told us something I will never forget:
“GUYS! Be quiet!” he said in a hushed voice. “VA Tech was a year ago yesterday! That could be us today.”

For the rest of the time we spent locked down, we were quiet. We left school almost a half hour late and I was greeted at my doorstep by my incredibly worried mother. I explained what had happened to her, then got a call on my cell phone. It was a friend of mine who had missed the lock down since she left early for a doctors appointment. She spoke rapidly, asking me if I was okay and wondering what had happened. She said she had returned to school only to find police, yes police, outside of school. 5 police cars, as well as news vans were waiting at the front of the school. I hadn’t realized the magnitude of this event, but it was going to get worse.

The next day, the girl who claimed to have been assaulted did not go to school. I heard she did not return that week, month, or even year. Throughout school, it was said that the girl had been expelled for lying and causing the lock down. Yes, it was true. She lied. It was a widely accepted rumor that the girl was sent to “juvy” for what she had done. So, the only question left was why. Why did she do such a horrible thing? Why did she scare an entire school into lock-down? The answer I found, the final, true answer, was horrendous.

She didn’t want to take a math test.

She lied and faced criminal charges over a math test. All I could wonder was what had made her think that was a good idea. Had she really thought she would have no punishment? Did she really think she would actually get away with it? Who knows.

It also made me wonder about her home situation. Did her parents never tell her such things are wrong? Did they exhibit poor behaviors too? What was the true, underlying cause of her actions?! I never did find the answer, but I do know one thing:
She did eventually have to take a math test. Not the exact one, but she had to be tested eventually.

Adults, don’t let your kids to stray down the path of wrongness. Do not permit such awful ideas into their heads, as you never know which ones they will decide to preform.

~Such are the thoughts of a Bipolar Teenager~

